2017 NRL Grand Final: Melbourne Storm wins premiership, Billy Slater named Clive Churchill Medalist

Melbourne Storm wins the 2017 NRL Grand Final.
Melbourne Storm wins the 2017 NRL Grand Final.

It was a perfect storm at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium on Sunday night, with Melbourne walking away as the 2017 premiership winners. 

The Storm led the Cowboys, 18-0 at halftime – the biggest halftime lead since the 2001 decider between Newcastle and Parramatta. 

The win followed the much-talked about performance from US rapper, Macklemore. 

See how the 2017 NRL Grand Final played out in photos

Related content: 

Billy Slater named the 2017 Clive Churchill Medalist

Storm’s Billy Slater took out the prestigious Clive Churchill Medal at this year’s grand final.

His numbers for the big game included one try, one try assist and 168m ran.

Teary-eyed, the NRL great thanked his team, the Cowboys and his wife, Nicole Slater.

“It’s been a rocky road these last couple of years, but I certainly couldn’t be standing here today without your support,” he said.